Skip to main content

Digital Initiatives Standing Committee (DISC)

This guide is designed for and to provide information on the Digital Initiatives Standing Committee.

Current Committee Members

First Name Last Name Institution Type Email Term
Dean DeBolt University of West Florida U 2018-2021
Chelsea Dinsmore University of Florida U-R 2018-2021
Lee Dotson University of Central Florida U-R 2019-2022
Andrew Macfarlane St. Johns River State College C-S 2019-2022
Xiying Mi * University of South Florida U-R 2018-2021
Calin (Cal) Murgu ** New College of Florida U 2019-2022
Angie Neely-Sardon Indian River State College C-L 2019-2022
Robert Phillips University of Florida U-R 2018-2019
Kaleena Rivera Florida Gulf Coast University U 2019-2022


Rodriguez Hillsborough Community College C-M 2018-2021
Kelley Rowan  Florida International University U-R 2017-2020
David  Russell Gulf Coast State College C-S 2019-2022
Elena Soltau Seminole State College of Florida C-L 2018-2021
Dwain Teague Miami Dade College C-L 2018-2021
Melissa VandeBurgt Florida Gulf Coast University U 2018-2021
Marielle Veve University of North Florida U 2018-2021
Keila Zayas-Ruiz Florida State University U-R 2018-2021
Carol Hixson MCLS Liaison, Florida Atlantic University  
Rebel Cummings-Sauls FLVC-FALSC Liaison, FLVC-FALSC  

“*” designates Chair; “**” designates Co-Chair/Secretary; "C" designates college; "U" designates university; “R” designates research universities; “L” designates large colleges; “M” designates medium colleges; “S” designates small colleges

Membership Guidelines

  • State Universsity System (SUS)
    • 11 members from any type institution
  • Florida College System (FCS)
    • 3 members from any sized institution

DISC has a tradition of overlapping co-chairs, where co-chair terms are two years and overlap for one year, so that an incoming co-chair supports the chair who’s had the role for the previous year, and then takes the lead in the following year. On July 12, 2017 the Committee decided that in order to re-establish the long-standing tradition of chair rotation and co-chairs our new Secretary will become co-chair next year. Every year DISC will appoint a new Secretary, and after the Secretary’s annual appointment is over he/she will become a co-chair in the following year. This system of rotating chairs and now the addition of the Secretary into the rotation will ensure continuity in group leadership.