Skip to main content

Digital Initiatives Standing Committee (DISC)

This guide is designed for and to provide information on the Digital Initiatives Standing Committee.

Current Committee Members

First Name Last Name Institution Type Email Term
Dean DeBolt University of West Florida U ddebolt@uwf.edu 2018-2021
Chelsea Dinsmore University of Florida U-R chedins@uflib.ufl.edu 2018-2021
Lee Dotson University of Central Florida U-R Lee.dotson@ucf.edu 2019-2022
Jill Krefft Florida International University U-R jkrefft@fiu.edu 2020-2023
Andrew Macfarlane St. Johns River State College C-S andrewmacfarlane@sjrstate.edu 2019-2022
Xiying Mi * University of South Florida U-R xmi@usf.edu 2018-2021
Calin (Cal) Murgu ** New College of Florida U cmurgu@ncf.edu 2019-2022
Angie Neely-Sardon Indian River State College C-L asardon@irsc.edu 2019-2022
Robert Phillips University of Florida U-R podengo@ufl.edu 2018-2019
Kaleena Rivera Florida Gulf Coast University U krivera@fgcu.edu 2019-2022

Jose

Rodriguez Hillsborough Community College C-M jrodriguez5@hccfl.edu 2018-2021
Kelley Rowan  Florida International University U-R krowan@fiu.edu 2017-2020
David  Russell Gulf Coast State College C-S drussel10@gulfcoast.edu 2019-2022
Elena Soltau Seminole State College of Florida C-L soltaue@seminolestate.edu 2018-2021
Dwain Teague Miami Dade College C-L dteague@mdc.edu 2018-2021
Melissa VandeBurgt Florida Gulf Coast University U mvandeburgt@fgcu.edu 2018-2021
Marielle Veve University of North Florida U m.veve@unf.edu 2018-2021
Keila Zayas-Ruiz Florida State University U-R kzayasruiz@fsu.edu 2018-2021
Tracy Elliott MCLS Liaison, Florida Gulf Coast University   telliott@fgcu.edu  
Elijah Scott FLVC-FALSC Liaison, FLVC-FALSC   escott@flvc.org  

“*” designates Chair; “**” designates Co-Chair/Secretary; "C" designates college; "U" designates university; “R” designates research universities; “L” designates large colleges; “M” designates medium colleges; “S” designates small colleges

Membership Guidelines

  • State Universsity System (SUS)
    • 11 members from any type institution
  • Florida College System (FCS)
    • 3 members from any sized institution

DISC has a tradition of overlapping co-chairs, where co-chair terms are two years and overlap for one year, so that an incoming co-chair supports the chair who’s had the role for the previous year, and then takes the lead in the following year. On July 12, 2017 the Committee decided that in order to re-establish the long-standing tradition of chair rotation and co-chairs our new Secretary will become co-chair next year. Every year DISC will appoint a new Secretary, and after the Secretary’s annual appointment is over he/she will become a co-chair in the following year. This system of rotating chairs and now the addition of the Secretary into the rotation will ensure continuity in group leadership.

Standing Committee Responsibilities

[Note: The following is from the FALSC Members Council for Library Services Operating Procedures document which outlines the creation and management of all committees and task forces.]

 

Article III  Standing and Ad Hoc Committees and Task Forces

Section A. Authority and Responsibility

Purpose: The Executive Committee shall have the authority to establish standing and ad hoc committees and task forces of the Members Council. Standing and ad hoc committees and task forces of the Members Council shall consider matters that are encompassed within the subject matters assigned to each committee and make recommendations to the Members Council. Committees must submit a written report for each Members Council meeting and have someone on hand at the meeting to answer questions.

Section B. Membership of the Standing Committees

Membership and Quorum: The Executive Committee shall have the authority to appoint and remove members of each committee. Each Committee will select a Chair and a Secretary. Committees may also have a co‐chair. A majority of committee members present at a committee meeting constitutes quorum for purposes of committee business. Committee membership is at the discretion of MCLS Executive Committee. Committee terms last for three years and begin July 1, except for the Collection Management and E‐Resources Standing Committee, whose term begins January 1. If a committee member leaves before the end of her or his term, a new member will be selected from recent committee applications or at the next selection period depending on the timing of the departure, at the discretion of the Executive Committee. Committee members are expected to attend all committee meetings.

Section C. Meetings of the Standing Committees

  1. Meetings: Meetings of the Standing Committees shall occur periodically and no less than quarterly, as determined by the Chair. Meetings may be held in person, by telephone, online, or by other virtual means. If meetings are held in person, any member may choose to participate by any other available means. A quorum will consist of a majority of the members present.
  2. Minutes: Minutes of committee or task force meetings shall be kept by the Secretary for each committee, and each meeting will be audio recorded. The minutes will be accessible through the FALSC website. 
  3. Roles and Responsibilities: Each committee and task force shall elect a Chair and a Secretary. The Members Council on Library Services shall provide a liaison to each committee. FALSC staff also will serve as committee liaisons. Liaisons are expected to attend all committee meetings. The Chair of each committee or the liaison shall report on any committee business at each Library Members Council meeting.