Skip to main content

Digital Initiatives Standing Committee

This guide is designed for and to provide information on the Digital Initiatives Standing Committee.

News: Florida Islandora News

News:

* Oct. 2018:  Workshops were held online regarding "Step-by-step instructions on getting Islandora metadata into Open Refine".  A recording of the Oct. 2 workshop is available at https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback/load/de9c5cda9e3f40e0a00bab0e1d9f88c1 and a recording of the Oct. 9 workshop is available at https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/playback/load/0d0c09c075664bc7915dd0a5906ffbdc .

* Sept. 2018:  Florida Atlantic University (FAU) has formally launched an institutional repository in Islandora.  The repository can be accessed by following the link to "Research Repository" on FAU's Islandora homepage at https://fau.digital.flvc.org/ .

* Sept. 2018:  Florida State College at Jacksonville's (FSCJ's) Islandora site is formally launched.  The site contains student publications, including newspapers and journals, and video recordings of interviews with local authors from the Jacksonville area.  FSCJ's site may be viewed at https://fscj.digital.flvc.org .

* July 2018:  Hillsborough Community College's (HCC's) Islandora site is formally launched.  The site contains many materials about the town of Ruskin, and plans to add materials about other Tampa-area history materials.  HCC's site may be viewed at https://hccfl.digital.flvc.org .

* July 2018:  Forms on the Islandora test sites are set up to handle RightsStatements.org values.  These new form fields are labeled "Access Condition: RightsStatements.org" in the text of the form when you look at it, and store in the MODS as <accessCondition type="use and reproduction" displayLabel="RightsStatements.org"> .  Sites are encouraged to test out these forms (add some rights statements, edit some rights statements, look at Solr fields, and report and bugs or any interface changes that would use the new fields).

ISG Meeting: October 21, 2018

Agenda:

  • There will be no more development on the Excel to MODS Transformer.  So if a field exists in that, then you have it, and you can keep using it.  But, if a field isn't in there (ie. no spreadsheet column for what you need to add), then FLVC will not add it.
    • Going forward, please report needs (we will say no, but we will know the level of adequacy with which we are meeting your needs).
    • Going forward, let FALSC know if you are shifting workflows away from the Excel to MODS Transformer.  The Excel to MODS Transformer validates all MODS XML records.  So, anything you create with it will load into and operate smoothly with Islandora.  IF you switch to a new workflow, validation needs to be part of that workflow.
  • Change to slideshows on the Islandora homepages:  Now these have alt tags.  (FALSC to show alt tag setting.)  This makes the sites easier to use, and helps to meet ADA requirements.  FALSC added alt tags to all existing images, and going forward you all should add them to new images.  Also, everyone look at your homepage and report if anything looks different (it shouldn't but check anyway and also report any changes you'd like).

ISG Meeting: September 25, 2018

Agenda:

  • Staffing change at FLVC:  Amanda Yesilbas is in Electronic Resources through March 2019.
  • Announcements:
  • Workshops for metadata quality control will be held Tues. Oct. 2, 1-2pm and Tues. Oct. 9, 1-2pm.  These will cover going from OAI-PMH to MARCEdit to OpenRefine.  There will be a click through, then each participant should try and go through the same process to harvest a collection of interest to you.  Anyone who wants to participate should install MARCEdit and OpenRefine ahead of time, and should come with a specific question in mind.  The kind of questions that are good to cover are things like, "Are my author names spelled consistently in this collection?", "Do all of my items have a date in this collection?", or any other metadata question you are grappling with.  Workshops will be held at the following link https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/guest/2C0E4791545E09F8C61CACEBEBD8F0BB .  The workshop content is generalizable to other platforms, not just Islandora, so feel free to let others know in your institution.
  • Last look at the faceting by rights statements.
    • The issue:
      • Short issue:  What facets exist and what is sorted into each can't be changed later.
      • Long technical breakdown of the issue:  Searches and facets in Islandora do NOT run directly on the MODS records.  Instead, they run on an index.  That index is in Solr.  It updates for each item on a save to changes in the metadata.  But, the Solr index does not update on a rolling basis.
      • FLVC plans to lock in the facets on October 9.  Speak now or forever hold your peace!
    • Based on feedback solicited by phone, FLVC will likely break the facets down like this:
    • 3 categories:
      • Free Re-use
      • Limited Re-use
      • No Re-use
    • Here's what's in each
      • Free Re-use contains:
        • public domain
        • Creative Commons:  CC-BY-SA
        • Creative Commons:  CC-BY
        • Creative Commons:  CC0
      • Limited Re-use contains:
        • Creative Commons:  CC-BY-NC
        • Creative Commons:  CC-BY-NC-ND
        • RightsStatements.org:  No Copyright - Non-Commercial Use Only
        • Creative Commons:  CC-BY-NC-SA
        • RightsStatements.org No Copyright - Other Known Legal Restrictions
      • No Re-use contains:
        • RightsStatements.org:  Copyright Not Evaluated
        • RightsStatements.org:  In Copyright
        • RightsStatements.org:  Rights reserved - Free access
    • Please, everyone, have whoever does scholarly communications or copyright at your library look at this and give feedback on:  What conceptual breakdowns are useful for people searching the site?  Do you all think that federated searches in the U.S. will model after Europeana?

ISG Meeting: August 28, 2018

Meeting link (tentative): https://us.bbcollab.com/collab/ui/session/guest/2C0E4791545E09F8C61CACEBEBD8F0BB (tentative)
 

Agenda:

  • MODS <location><url> in Islandora records, and the Islandora to Mango workflow.  (This is a super quick item, but the long technical info is here.)
    • <location displayLabel="purl"><url> is where PURLs are stored that interact with FLVC's PURL server.
    • <location><url> shows up in the Mango record as a link.  The values in <location><url> break down into four general categories:
      • (1) Duplicate PURLs (due to a confusing interface for the Islandora MODS forms.
      • (2) DOIs, which often resolve to pay walls.
      • (3) Links to institutional sites (ie. webpage for special collections).  This is not in keeping with the MODS standard (MODS states that <location><url> is to be used for links to the resource and preference is only to use the link if it's a persistent link.
      • (4) Links to a duplicate of the item on a different digital library's page (ie. archive.org or UFDC).
    • Proposing to:
      • Retain the <location displayLabel="purl"><url> info and keep it active as a link in Mango.
      • Discard most of the <location><url> info, but keep it if it's a link to UFDC or to archive.org (the two kinds of links in use which are both in keeping with the MODS standard and which never resolve to a paywall).
  • SSDN Metadata Participation Guidelines are now posted at https://sunshinestatedigitalnetwork.wordpress.com/documentation/
    • Required fields:
      • Rights:  SSDN requires this field and requires that it be expressed in the rightsstatements.org controlled vocabulary.  No sites have these expressed in rightsstatements.org URIs.  Adding this is a priority.
      • Is Shown At:  SSDN requires a link.  This can be supplied by the Islandora system.
      • Preview:  SSDN requires a URL of a thumbnail.  This can be supplied by the Islandora system.
      • Data Provider and Intermediate Provider:  FLVC's preliminary analysis is that the institutional site hosting the content is the Data Provider, and Intermediate Provider will only be applicable if there is an intermediate aggregating the records before sending them to SSDN.
      • Provider:  This is always "Sunshine State Digital Network".
  • FLVC's Quarterly Maintenance Schedule:  Islandora is up for getting attention in quarter 3 of the 2018-19 fiscal year (Jan. - March).  Two projects will be considered for scheduling:
    • Routine software upgrade.  This keeps Islandora working smoothly, lets FLVC ask technical questions of the wider community, and usually comes with some new features.
    • Prioritized list of software performance improvements:  These will be worked through, time allowing.  So, it's very likely early items on the list will get done, and unlikely that the last item on the list will get done.
      • Priority 1:  Make .zip loader to where it passes a file to offline batch ingest server (at least for paged objects and for video).
        • Outcome for sites:  Sites will be able to upload items simultaneously.  For example, you can schedule multiple employees to upload Newspaper Issues at the same time.  You can also click through a set of uploads quickly.  Instead of seeing the completion bar in the browser, uploading through the .zip loader will send items to a queue for processing later.  Your workflow will involve checking back the next day for error/success messages.  For the public browsing the sites, sites will be much faster.
      • Priority 2:  Turning the indexing queue off
        • Outcome for sites:  Less weirdness from Solr indexing lags.
      • Priority 3:  Setup Varnish and Memcache
        • Outcome for sites:  Faster loading times for the public browsing the site.
      • Priority 4:  Modularize other allied services such as solr onto their own platforms. (Solr; RDF; djatoka)
        • Outcome for sites:  Faster loading and processing times for everyone.
      • Priority 5:  Upgrade to latest Fedora (3.8.1), we run 3.7.1
        • Outcome for sites:  You won't see any change.  This will make for a smoother backend and smoother operations at FLVC - developers here can better connect with the open source community, stay on a supported version of software, etc.
      • Priority 6:  Blazegraph implementation on production
        • Outcome for sites:  Avoid problems down the road.  Blazegraph scales better than the current backend technology (Mulgara), and FLVC's Islandora install is really big with many items in it.
      • Items on https://islanddev.flvc.org/ will not be comprehensively addressed, however, some of the performance improvements are also listed on islanddev.
    • This planning covers use of computer programming and system administrator resources only.  FALSC librarians are able to move things forward year round, under the obvious constraints of staffing and time.  If something needs to happen, but is not on this list, then please ask about it.  It may be the case that that is something that librarians can move forward, and if not, this list is just about but not quite final, so now is the time to ask.
    • The ISG meeting represents a chance to ask questions or give feedback, and you are always welcome to give feedback to anyone in FLVC or FALSC.

ISG Meeting: July 24, 2018

Video Recording:  http://recordings.flvc.org/NP/Wilhelmina/ISGmeetings/2018_07_24_ISGmtg.mp4

Agenda:

* Update on the change in video recording technology:
** FLVC will discontinue Collaborate Ultra around August 23rd.
** The old ISG meeting recordings moved to an FLVC server, and the links have all been updated on the ISG and DISC wikis, so the recordings are safe.  Collaborate Ultra was used from January 2016 to present.  Older videos are still stored with UCF.  Very soon, possibly for the next meeting, the meeting link will change.
** FLVC has not yet selected software for online meetings, so an updated link and instructions are not available at this time.


* New metadata services:  Custom forms and metadata templates.
** Over the past two years, librarians at FLVC have worked with forms and we are now able to provide two new services.
** A metadata template is a set of values that prepopulate a form.  (Demo of FSCJ's template.)
** FLVC is willing to set up custom forms with fewer fields than the MODS Simple Entry form.  For example, a form might interact only with the DOIs on objects, or only with author names.  These are intended to be used for a limited time for metadata cleanup projects.

 

* RightsStatements.org implementation on the FLVC Islandora sites:

** Forms update:

*** Forms are up on all the Islandora test sites which include RightsStatement.org and Creative Commons for the accessCondition field in MODS.  Please try them out and report any problems.
** Formatting RightsStatements.org values:
*** The way FLVC will format this is like so:
<accessCondition type="use and reproduction" displayLabel="RightsStatements.org">http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/</accessCondition>
*** Solr fields and the MODS forms will work with that specific way of formatting the RightsStatements.org value.
*** The Excel to MODS Transformer will not format any column of input like this.  If you are using the Excel to MODS Transformer to prep metadata, put the URI in as accessCondition in the Excel column, then use the Excel to MODS Transformer to do the transformation, then email the .zip file of MODS records to help@flvc.org and request the Digital Services and OER department to correctly format the RightsStatements.org values.  (Also put "Islandora" in the subject line.)  Someone from Digital Services and OER should be able to email you back a .zip file of MODS with the RightsStatements.org values formatted like FLVC has standardized.

** This is an informational announcement only.  FLVC anticipates that the Sunshine State Digital Network will release metadata guidelines in the near future, and after those are released, the Digital Services and OER department will address metadata reports and remediation. 

 

* FLVC's Quarterly Maintenance Schedule:

** This year, FLVC will allocate IT resources on a quarterly maintenance schedule.  Each quarter of the year, one software platform will get developer support.

** Islandora is scheduled to get developer support in Quarter 3, January to March 2019.

** Two goals for that time period:

*** 1)  A routine software upgrade.

*** 2)  Make a prioritized list of all open development needs and bug fixes with more time commitment, and work through that list.  The idea is that the most important items would be completed, and items towards the end of the list would not.

ISG Meeting Notes: June 2018 and earlier

Older meeting notes and recordings are available from the ISG wiki https://islandora.pubwiki.fcla.edu/wiki/index.php/ISG_Meeting_Notes_pubwiki