Skip to main content

Digital Initiatives Standing Committee (DISC)

This guide is designed for and to provide information on the Digital Initiatives Standing Committee.

Meeting Link

Here is the link for meetings of the Metadata Subgroup through December.

 

Tuesday 1:30 pm | 1 hour | (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)

Occurs the first Tuesday of every month effective 4/2/2019 until 12/3/2019 from 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM, (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)

Meeting number: 803 497 842

https://uwf.webex.com/uwf/j.php?MTID=m32b5f538f4bfcfb0fe32a851f14926c3

 

Join by video system

Dial 803497842@uwf.webex.com

You can also dial 173.243.2.68 and enter your meeting number.

 

Join by phone

+1-240-454-0887 United States Toll (San Jose)

+1-240-454-0887 United States Toll (San Jose)

Access code: 803 497 842

Background

FLVC-FALSC

From the Panhandle to the Keys, FLVC- FALSC provides services and support for the public college and university libraries of Florida.  FLVC-FALSC offers a variety of products and services that support digital collections and it is their desire to have uniformed, statewide standards that can be used across platforms and formats. FLVC-FALSC supports the cooperative building of shared collections using common standards and a shared infrastructure.  Projects may involve a single university or college or may involve collaborative efforts between a universities, colleges, and partners within or outside of the state university or college systems.

 

PALMM-

The Publication of Archival, Library, and Museum Materials (PALMM, http://palmm.fcla.edu), is an umbrella program supporting the cooperative building of shared collections using common standards. It is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. The majority of PALMM’s materials focus on Florida subjects. Its projects may involve a single university, or be a collaborative effort between a university and partners within, or outside, of the state university system. Any public university or college in Florida may apply to share digital collections in PALMM.  

The PALMM program began when universities were just beginning to develop digital collections and had little access to digital asset management systems.  FLVC, formerly FCLA, coordinated grant funding for digitization and implemented the DLSX system.  As part of the initial implementation the first metadata guidelines were developed in 2003. A joint working group with members from the Metadata Subcommittee of the Technical Services Planning Committee and the Digital Initiatives Subcommittee of the Technology Advisory Group was established in 2009(?) to address the issue from the perspective of both cataloging and digital collections. The PALMM 2.0 guidelines document revise and updates the Cataloging and Access Guidelines for Electronic Resources, Part 1: SUS Digitization Projects created July 2003, informally known as the "CAGER Guidelines.”  The 2010 drafted guidelines were never officially approved by the overseeing committees from the best recollection of the history of this document.  Neither version of the guidelines were ever strictly instilled with PALMM collections, although they were used in part to set configurations on the metadata for ingested content.  Additional PALMM documentation can be found at: https://support.flvc.org/knowledgebase/article/KBA-01670-Q3J4/en-us

SSDN-

SSDN guidelines were created by the Sunshine State Digital Network Metadata Working Group in 2018. This document provides guidance for libraries, archives, and museums who wish to contribute their metadata to the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) through the Sunshine State Digital Network (SSDN). These guidelines are intended to help potential and current partners create, enhance, and map their metadata records for contribution to DPLA.