Skip to main content

OPEN FL

Guide for the open and affordable learning community of Florida, OPEN FL.

JAMA

JAMA Network Remote Access allows you to sign in and link your individual login to your institution’s subscription so that you can access the same original research, opinion, and educational content you’d have on campus from anywhere you happen to be – on any mobile, tablet, or desktop device.

To enable remote access, create a free account or sign in to your JAMA Network or AMA account from within your institution’s IP range, ie, while you’re on your institution’s wifi or direct network. If you are already off campus, you may visit your institution by VPN and login during your VPN session. Once your individual account has been linked to your institution’s profile, you’ll have 90 days of remote access before you need to sign in again (the 90 days starts over each time you sign in from within your institution). After you have completed this process, you will not need extra credentials or a VPN.

To get started, click “Sign In” in the top right corner of any page on jamanetwork.com, then choose to “Sign in” to your existing account or “Create an Account” to register as a JAMA Network user. Contact us at support@jamanetwork.com with any questions.  

 

Ohio State Universtiy Press

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook Language Files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ institutional repository, the Knowledge Bank.  Find them here: https://kb.osu.edu/handle/1811/131

 

ProQuest E-book Central

Coronavirus-Impacted Libraries get Unlimited Access to Ebook Central Holdings  “Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June.  No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users.” List of participating publishers here.   

 

JSTOR

On March 18, working in collaboration with JSTOR’s publishing partners, we announced a set of expanded access offerings to support libraries, faculty, and students making the emergency shift to remote instruction and research. Today we announced that the following expanded access offerings will be extended through December 31, 2020:

 

  • Full archive expanded access program (all Arts & Science Collections, Thematic Collections, Primary Source Collections not currently licensed by your institution are available at no additional charge). Institutions may request access here: https://www.jstor.org/librarians/admin/. For those who have already signed up, we will automatically extend your access unless otherwise requested. 
  • Browser Pairing 
  • Freely accessible Public Health journals 
  • Freely accessible coronavirus related books and journal articles
  • Free online reading expanded to 100 articles/month 
  • Remote access enablement, upon request, for public library participants, for JSTOR and Artstor 

 

In the nine weeks since launching the program, there have been more than 10 million accesses to this content. We hope that extended this access will help faculty and libraries in planning and supporting classes for the fall semester, whether online, in-person, or a combination of both.

 

You can learn more about our expanded access initiatives at https://about.jstor.org/covid19/, and we encourage you to read our full announcement: https://about.jstor.org/news/expanded-access-to-jstor-archive-extended-through-2020-a-letter-from-kevin-guthrie/

MIT Press

In response to budget pressures facing libraries worldwide, the MIT Press will keep pricing for all of its institutional products—journalsCogNet, and MIT Press Direct eBook Collections—at 2020 levels for 2021. All current subscribers can renew at our current 2020 prices, and new subscribers may purchase 2021 subscriptions and collections at the 2020 rates.


Follow the links below to view current pricing:


As you plan for the Fall semester in what are sure to be challenging and uncertain times, we wanted to emphasize that the MIT Press is open to collaboration. We are moving quickly to strengthen our digital offerings to support students and faculty who are working and learning remotely.


Digital archives for 14 of our journals are newly available. Visit mitpresssjournals.org/archives for full details. In addition, new eBooks are continuously publishing on MIT Press Direct. Reach out to us to request more information, begin a trial, or ask questions: