Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Next Gen ILS Implementation

This is for FALSC's Alma/Primo VE Implementation Project.

ILS Coordinators

ILS Coordinators

Each institution is required to appoint one person to act as the ILS Coordinator. This person will act as a liaison between the institution and FALSC on all matters related to the implementation of Alma and Primo VE. They are asked to share information about the project to the rest of their library staff as well as to other services at their institution including IT and their administration.

Typically, the ILS Coordinators meet monthly with FALSC staff for an update and to share information and concerns about the project. 

Current ILS Coordinators

Institution Coordinator Title E-mail Address
Broward College Craig Amos Associate Dean  camos@broward.edu
Chipola College Jane Stephens Coordinator of Library stephensj@chipola.edu
College of Central Florida Carole Thompson   Senior Library Technician thompsoc@cf.edu
College of the Florida Keys Marcos Gonzalez Assistant Director, Learning Resource Center marcos.gonzalez@cfk.edu
Daytona State College Anibal Delgado Gonzalez Emerging Technology Librarian anibal_delgado_gonzalez@daytonastate.edu
Eastern Florida State College Karen MacArthur Assistant Professor/Librarian, Cataloging macarthurk@easternflorida.edu
Florida A&M University Ernestine Holmes University Librarian, Head of Acquisitions ernestine.holmes@famu.edu
Florida Atlantic University Hansy Ambroise Coordinator, Computer Applications hambrois@fau.edu
Florida Gateway College Christine Boatright

Library Director

Christine.boatright@fgc.edu 
Florida Gulf Coast University Danielle Rosenthal Head of Library Technology and User Experience drosenth@fgcu.edu
Florida International University Jin Xiu Guo Associate Dean for Technical Services jiguo@fiu.edu
Florida Polytechnic University Kathyrn Miller Vice Provost, Academic Support Services kmiller@floridapoly.edu
Florida SouthWestern State College Richard Hodges Library Director richard.hodges@fsw.edu
Florida State College at Jacksonville Madeline Sims Library Technical Services Program Coordinator masims@fscj.edu
Florida State University Valerie Boulos Associate Dean, Collection Development vlboulos@fsu.edu
Gulf Coast State College David Russell Librarian, Collection Strategies and Technical Services Drussel10@gulfcoast.edu 
Hillsborough Community College Andrea Dufault Business Information Analyst adufault@hccfl.edu
Indian River State College Alexis Carlson Reference Librarian acarlson@irsc.edu
Lake-Sumter State College Kevin Arms Assistant Librarian  armsk@lssc.edu
Miami Dade College Angel Hernandez Learning Resources Professional aherna19@mdc.edu
New College Tammara Race Systems, Metadata & Assessment Librarian trace@ncf.edu
North Florida College Lynn Wyche Library Director wychel@nfc.edu
Northwest Florida State College Janice Henderson Lead Librarian hendersj@nwfsc.edu
Palm Beach State College Ken Myers Librarian/Professor myersk@palmbeachstate.edu
Pasco-Hernando State College Kayla Kuni Associate Director, Libraries kunik@phsc.edu
Pensacola State College Maria Goodspeed Technical Services Coordinator

Mgoodspeed@pensacolastate.edu

Polk State College Shannon Schane Librarian sschane@polk.edu
St. Johns River State College Ann Spinler Library Technical Assistant AnnSpinler@sjrstate.edu
St. Petersburg College Michele Laney Associate Director, Learning Resources laney.michele@spcollege.edu
Santa Fe College Jenna Miller Librarian  jenna.miller@sfcollege.edu
Seminole State College Morgan Tracy Director of Libraries tracyma@seminolestate.edu
South Florida State College Lena Phelps Chair, Library Services lena.phelps@southflorida.edu
State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Theresa Smith-Ennis Venice Library Supervisor smithet@scf.edu
Tallahassee Community College Tricia Elton Faculty Librarian eltont@tcc.fl.edu
University of Central Florida Ying Zhang Interim Associate Director, Collections & Technical Services Ying.Zhang@ucf.edu
University of Florida Todd Digby Chair, Library IT digby@ufl.edu
University of North Florida Jennifer Murray Associate Dean  jennifer.murray@unf.edu
University of South Florida Bonita Pollock Assistant Librarian, Collections & Discovery pollockb1@usf.edu
University of West Florida Liza Campbell Head of Technical Services

lcampbell1@uwf.edu

Valencia College Ruth Smith Campus Director, Library West rsmith257@valenciacollege.edu

 

Meeting Agendas and Recordings

Date Agenda Recordings
Wednesday, July 8, 2020, 2:00pm ET 20200708 Recording
Vanguard Kickoff Meeting with ExL on Thursday, July 9, 2020   20200709 Recording
Wednesday, August 12, 2020, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20200812 Recording
Wednesday, September 9, 2020, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20200909 Recording
Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20201014 Recording
Full Forty Kickoff Meeting with ExL on Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020 Slides 20201110 Recording
Wednesday, November 18, 2020, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20201118 Recording
Primo VE Configuration Form Review on Tuesday, December 1, 2020 Slides 20201201 Recording
eResources in Alma/Primo VE on Wednesday, December 9, 2020 Slides 20201209 Recording
Wednesday, December 9, 2020, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20201209 Recording
Wednesday, January 13, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210113 Recording
Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210210 Recording
Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210310 Recording
Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210414 Recording
Wednesday, May 12, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210512 Recording
Wednesday, June 9, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210609 Recording
Wednesday, July 14, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210714 Recording
Wednesday, August 11, 2021, 2:00pm ET Agenda 20210811 Recording

 

Go Live Documentation

Ex Libris Documentation

Training Sessions Available from Ex Libris

Getting to Know Alma

Alma Essentials

Primo VE Training

Ex Libris' Main Training Site

 

Institution Clean Up Documents

 

Item Status and Collection Clean Up

All Item Status and Collection Clean Up Documents should be returned to FALSC as soon as possible with a deadline of October 14, 2020.  Please send completed forms to help@flvc.org. Please send questions to ccogar@flvc.org.

The Excel spreadsheet contains a report of each Sublibrary/Collection/Item Status combination with a count of the number of items in each as of 8/26/2020. This spreadsheet is what I used to create the document and it can be used by you to look at your data and sort and view things in whatever way you wish. It is just informational.

Based on the spreadsheet, the Word document contains lists of item statuses, collections, and sublibraries that could be cleaned up, removed, or in some cases renamed based on the information in the spreadsheet. The Word document has spaces for your institution’s staff to say whether the proposed clean up should yes, go ahead, or no, do nothing at this time. 

The Item Status and Collection Clean Up Document has a few tables. They are not labelled but your sublibraries, collections, Item Status numbers, and Item Status Descriptions should be easily recognizable. The last number is the count of items with that sublibrary/collection/item status. You can view where these came from by looking at the spreadsheets. The other columns that contain xxx15 and xxx16 are codes that will help us do the clean up, these can be ignored. 

For Item Statuses and Collections that only have a few items using them, I have asked if you would like to clean up and delete. There is enough information to run General Retrieval Reports to take a look at these items and update them to a new Item Status or Collection. Please run these reports if you would like me to delete the item statuses or collections. 

There may be some collections that have no items but that you know you have holdings attached to them. If you know that there are holdings attached (for example you don't create items for periodicals so your PER collection is "empty") please respond "no" to deletion. 

 

Borrower Status Clean Up

Borrower Status Clean Up spreadsheets are now posted below (10/5/2020). Please download, complete, and return them to help@flvc.org before November 20, 2020. 

Each of your institution's borrower statuses are listed in the spreadsheet by description and code. For each of them we have given a count of the number of patrons that have that borrower status (the count includes expired patrons) and have added whether the patron status is loaded by the patron load. For each borrower status that IS NOT loaded by the patron load, please let us know: 

  • If it is still in use. 
  • If it is not still in use let us know if we can clean it up and then remove it from your list.
  • If you want to clean up and delete the borrower status please let us know which borrower status you would like to change the remining patrons to. 

The last column of the spreadsheet refers only to the rows that are highlighted in yellow. If the borrower status is highlighted in yellow and still in use by your institution, please describe how you use this borrower status. This is for informational purposes as there may be better ways to use the new functionality of Alma to accomplish the same work flow in a more streamlined way.

To find all patrons with a particular Borrower Status in Aleph: 

You can run the Patron List Report.

In ALEPH click Services à Reports à Patron List

Type in a filename next to “Output File” – all one word and in lowercase.

Leave Sublibrary with “All” checked

Choose the Patron Status you want

To get all the patrons:

                Make Privileges Expire after: 00/00/0000

                Make Privileges Expire before: 00/00/0000

Click the Submit button.

The completed report will show up in your Task Manager file list. It might take a little bit.

Please send any questions to Chrissy Cogar at ccogar@flvc.org.

 

Institution Item Status and Collection Clean Up Documents Item Status and Collection Spreadsheets Borrower Status Spreadsheets
Broward College doc xls

xls

College of Central Florida doc xls xls
Chipola College doc xls xls
Daytona State College doc xls xls

Eastern Florida State College

doc xls xls
FAMU doc xls xls
FAU doc xls xls
FGCU doc xls xls
FIU doc xls xls
FL Gateway College doc xls xls
College of the FL Keys doc xls xls
FL Polytechnic University doc xls xls
FL State College at Jacksonville doc xls xls
FSU doc xls xls
FL SouthWestern State College doc xls xls
Gulf Coast State College doc xls xls
Hillsborough Community College doc xls xls
Indian River State College doc xls xls
Lake-Sumter State College doc xls xls
Miami Dade State College doc xls xls
New College of FL doc xls xls
North Florida College doc xls xls
Northwest FL State College doc xls xls
Palm Beach State College doc xls xls
Pasco-Hernando State College doc xls xls
Pensacola State College doc xls xls
Polk State College doc xls xls
Santa Fe College doc xls xls
State College of FL - Manatee-Sarasota doc xls xls
Seminole State College doc xls xls
South Florida State College doc xls xls
St. John's River State College doc xls xls
St Petersburg College doc xls xls
Tallahassee Community College doc xls xls
UCF doc xls xls
UF doc xls xls
UNF doc xls xls
USF doc xls xls
UWF doc xls xls
Valencia College doc xls xls

 

Staff User Roles in Alma

Updated 11/17/2020

FALSC is asking all institutions to identify all library staff that will need a user account in Alma and assign the roles to each account which will allow staff to do their work. These accounts will be created in the Full Testload instance of Alma in February 2021 and will be retained when the system goes live in July 2021. To assist in this process, please use the following documents:

Worksheets are due January 15, 2021. If you have any questions, please contact the FLVC Help Desk at help@flvc.org.

 

PRIMO VE Configuration and Customization Forms

 

Introduction

This document is designed to assist ILS Coordinators and library staff in providing input about their institution’s local Primo VE view. Ex Libris has a Configuration form (spreadsheet) with multiple tabs. These instructions only relate to the two Primo tabs on the spreadsheet: Primo VE – Configuration and Primo VE – Digital Collections. Previous vanguard Primo VE spreadsheets will not be used.

Ex Libris has streamlined the initial release of Primo VE for the Full Test Load. Many configurations will initially be identical across all 40 institutions in order to facilitate troubleshooting during data review. Everything can be changed during the Full Test Load or after go live.

The deadlines for submission of these forms to FALSC are listed below. FALSC needs a few days to review the submissions before sending them to Ex Libris by our deadline.

  • Draft Configuration forms - January 11, 2021
  • Final configuration forms – January 18, 2021

FALSC’s deadlines to submit the configuration forms to Ex Libris are a few days after these. We need a few days to review the submissions and clarify entries as needed.

There are other configuration and customization options that each institution can add to their interface later. Useful documentation from Ex Libris explains the various options identifies some of the configuration options, not all of which are being requested now.

Please indicate your institution’s preferences on the two Excel spreadsheets that are listed below.

Return the completed spreadsheet tabs and a logo meeting all specified size requirements/file type by email to help@flvc.org or cmccraw@flvc.org.

 

Primo VE - Configuration Form Instructions

Row 3. Provide a Logo - The requirements for the logo are:

  • The file format of the image must be .png or svg.
  • The height of the image cannot exceed 100 pixels.
  • The width of the image cannon exceed 300 pixels.
  • The size of the image cannot exceed 30KB.

Row 4. Side bar (facets) - Choose one, either left or right.

Row 7. Search box – Do not complete at this time. All 40 Primo interfaces will have identical scopes to start with. The scopes can be adjusted later.

Row 8. Do you want to restrict the ability to search Course Reserves to specific groups of users? (Ex Libris documentation: In general, most Ex Libris customers (such as academic libraries) do not need this functionality.)If yes, identify the users.

Rows 10-12. Do you want a search profile to search EBSCOhost databases? – choose Yes or No and provide the list of databases to be searched. Refer to EBSCO’s database codes short names list. FALSC obtained the credentials from EBSCO. For more information, see https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Primo/Product_Documentation/020Primo_VE/022Search_Configuration/010Configuring_Search_Profiles_for_Primo_VE#Defining_a_Scope_for_a_Third-Party_Index).

Rows 14-16. Do you want a search profile to search Worldcat? – Choose Yes or No and provide the requested credentials. For more information, see https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Primo/Product_Documentation/020Primo_VE/022Search_Configuration/010Configuring_Search_Profiles_for_Primo_VE#Defining_a_Scope_for_a_Third-Party_Index

Rows 18-28. Facets. Indicate which facets to “keep as is” or “hide facet”. Do not relabel any facet yet. Add the order in which you want the facets to appear. Ex Libris recommends showing all facets at first, with two exceptions:

  1. Collections facet. Ex Libris recommends the Collection facet be hidden.
  2. Location facet. Ex Libris also suggests the Location facet be hidden. This is the facet we discussed during an ILS Coordinators meeting which has multiple occurrences of GEN, CIRC, etc.

Rows 30-34. The Full Record View has three sections: View Online, Get it, and Details. Provide a new label for the section indicated or leave as is.

Rows 36-43. Full Record View—Details Section—Additional fields. Do not complete at this time.

Rows 44-54. Main menu links. These are the links across the top of the Primo interface. Ex Libris’ documentation describes the main menu links. For each link listed, indicate whether it should be enabled or not. Indicate the order in which the link should appear across the top of the view

Rows 56-60. Customized links. In addition to the Main Menu links listed above, it is possible to add your own links to the menu that can take your users to external sites or pages. Indicate any customized links you would like to appear. For example, if you would like a LibGuides Databases A-Z to be listed, provide the requested information.

Rows 62-78. Browse list options. Indicate which Browse searches you would like or do not complete if you don’t want a browse search.

Rows 80-91. Record actions. Indicate which record actions to enable and their order. “Add/remove record to Favorites” is always enabled by default and is always an up front action and is always the first in order.

Rows 93-96. General attributes. Select the languages desired from the list of languages offered in the cells’ dropdown menus. English has already been entered as the default. Ex Libris cautions that the languages are applied globally and will also appear as choices in Alma. You can define up to six additional interface languages.

Rows 99-105. Local resource types. Do not complete this section.

 

Primo VE – Digital Collections Instructions

Completing this spreadsheet is optional. This spreadsheet applies to digital collections or to LibGuides if the institution desires to harvest those. Springshare’s web site which describes OAI-PMH harvesting is here: https://ask.springshare.com/libguides/faq/804. Only submit one collection.

  • Complete the top section.
  • Row 4. Use the institution’s acronym or name in the name of the collection, such as UCF Stars. If identifying a LibGuide on the spreadsheet, name it [institution name] LibGuides , such as FSCJ LibGuides
  • Do not complete the bottom section if submitting a LibGuide or a digital collection.

Patron Load Status for Each Institution

Below is listing of each institution and where FALSC stands with their patron load process. Approved means that the institution is ready to send files to FALSC once we go-live on July 13th. This list will be updated periodically.

Last Updated: June 9, 2021.

Institution Latest Status Date
Broward College Approved 5/26/2021
Chipola College Approved 3/29/2021
College of Central Florida Approved 6/11/2021
College of the Florida Keys Approved. 6/11/2021
Daytona State College Approved 5/24/2021
Eastern Florida State College Approved 3/15/2021
Florida A&M University Approved 3/23/2021
Florida Atlantic University Approved 3/18/2021
Florida Gateway College Approved 4/01/2021
Florida Gulf Coast University Approved 3/15/2021
Florida International University Approved 5/21/2021
Florida Polytechnic University Approved 3/10/2021
Florida SouthWestern State College Approved 6/08/2021
Florida State College at Jacksonville Approved 3/24/2021
Florida State University Approved 3/25/2021
Gulf Coast State College Approved 6/07/2021
Hillsborough Community College Approved 3/30/2021
Indian River State College Approved 5/20/2021
Lake-Sumter State College Approved 4/07/2021
Miami Dade College Approved 3/24/2021
New College Approved 3/05/2021
North Florida College Approved 4/14/2021
Northwest Florida State College Approved 5/17/2021
Palm Beach State College Approved 4/13/2021
Pasco-Hernando State College Approved loading student file. Staff file not tested 6/09/2021
Pensacola State College Approved 6/9/2021
Polk State College Approved 4/16/2021
St. Johns River State College Approved 4/07/2021
St. Petersburg College Approved 6/02/2021
Santa Fe College Approved 5/04/2021
Seminole State College Approved 3/29/2021
South Florida State College Approved 5/18/2021
State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Approved 3/12/2021
Tallahassee Community College Approved 4/21/2021
University of Central Florida Approved 3/12/2021
University of Florida Approved (But need to perform a fix to records before Go-Live) 5/20/2021
University of North Florida Approved 3/15/2021
University of South Florida Approved 5/25/2021
University of West Florida Approved 3/11/2021
Valencia College Approved 3/26/2021

Number of institutions Approved = 39
Number of institutions who are in process = 1


 

Cash Export Status for Affected Institutions

Below is listing of each institution that currently uses FALSC's Cash Export Service (also called the Bursar Report) with Aleph and the progress each has made in testing the new service in Alma. Technical specifications have been shared with each institution.

Last Updated: April 19, 2021.

Institution Latest Status Date
Florida A&M University Specs and institution specific documentation shared w/ ILS Coordinator 2/24/2021
Florida Atlantic University Testing 6/7/2021
Florida Gulf Coast University Testing 6/8/2021
Florida International University Complete 6/22/2021
Florida State University Testing 6/3/2021
New College Complete 6/30/2021
University of Florida Working with IT on this. Should begin testing soon. 4/20/2021
University of North Florida Complete 6/9/2021
University of South Florida Testing 6/23/2021

Number of institutions who have completed testing = 3
Number of institutions who are in process = 6

Setting Up OCLC Connexion with Alma

For libraries that have a current OCLC Cataloging and Metadata subscription, they will want to set up their OCLC Connexion interface so that records can be sent directly to FALSC's Alma Network Zone (NZ) or the library's Institution Zone (IZ). Below is a link to a document that outlines how to set up this configuration with both the OCLC Connexion Client and the OCLC Connexion web interface. [Note: FALSC highly recommends libraries use the OCLC Connexion Client, if possible. It has more functionality than the web interface. It is very easy to download, install, and configure.]

During the process of setting up this service, staff will need to contact FLVC Help Desk (help@flvc.org) and ask for their institution's configuration password.

OCLC-Alma Information Document

Item Process Status Clean Up

In Aleph, Item Process Statuses were usually used to designate items as undergoing a "behind the scenes" process in cataloging, acquisitions, or circulation. Adding an IPS to an item made it easy to find them using Aleph's reports.

Alma does not use Item Process Statuses and instead uses Work Orders and Work Order Statuses to keep track of items requiring processing. In Alma, instead of running a report to find items that require work, they are available in a list and can be retrieved with just a few clicks.

Below are links to two documents:

  • Finding Records with Item Process Statuses in Alma - This Word document explains how to find and handle records with item process statuses. In some cases, items may need to be moved to a work order or to another location. Step by step instructions are given. Please feel free to consult with FALSC via the Help Desk if you need advice or assistance on what to do.
  • List of Item Process Statuses - This Excel spreadsheet lists all of the Item Process Status codes for each institution. (The colleges are listed first in the spreadsheet, then the universities.) Please use this as a reference to identify all of the items in your library's collections that currently have an Item Process Status.

As always, please contact the FLVC Help Desk at help@flvc.org if you have any questions.

 

 

Alma Configuration Progress

Area

Configuration Expected Completion Date Comments
Acquisitions EDI invoicing 4/29/2021

Tested successfully 4/14/2021; Sent documentation for institutions to update the EDI tab for EDI vendors in Alma 4/29

Acquisitions EDI ordering 5/13/2021 FALSC test by 4/30;  Sent documentation for institutions to update the EDI tab for EDI vendors in Alma 4/29
Acquisitions EOD loading (EOCRs) 6/8/2021 Tested loading an EOD file in NZ on 4/9; Alma loaded the record, but did not create POLs, items, or encumbrances; will rebuild normalization rule & normalization process in IZ & re-test by 4/23; need to build sets of normalization rules from Aleph tab_loader, tab_loader_def, & tab_mapping; develop processes for cleaning up imported records (remove 9xx fields & link records to NZ)
Acquisitions Fiscal Year Rollover 6/8/2021 Plan to test with an institution & develop documentation. Need to wait to test as not to disrupt data.
Acquisitions APFeed/ERP finance integration invoice export (UNF) 6/8/2021 Test configuration completed as of 3/15/21; sent test files & matching table as of 4/8/21--institution IT is developing scripts to ingest the invoice files from Alma
Acquisitions APFeed/ERP finance integration invoice export (UF) 6/8/2021 Test configuration completed as of 3/15/21; sent test files & matching table as of 4/8/21--institution IT is developing scripts to ingest the invoice files from Alma
Acquisitions APFeed/ERP finance integration invoice export (FIU) 6/8/2021 Test configuration completed as of 3/15/21; sent test files & matching table as of 4/8/21--institution IT is developing scripts to ingest the invoice files from Alma
Acquisitions Configure accounting units 4/26 - 6/8/2021 Institutions with order units in Aleph: FAMU; FIU; FSU; UF; UNF; USF: Ongoing--Scoping acquisitions roles on an ad-hoc basis; test disabling acq depts for non-ordering unit libraries (can staff still receive at branch locations--test scoping branch library acq. departments to receive POLs owned by acq ordering depts.)
Acquisitions

Configure simplified acquisitions for institutions that don't use acq, but need to check in serials

6/8/2021 Set up acq libraries, work order departments, and scope staff user roles for these institutions
Acquisitions Work Orders

6/15/2021

Currently testing

Manage and track physical items through different library processes. Working Groups are currently discussing various aspects of setup. Waiting for recommendations from the Working Groups. FALSC plans to implement a few basic work orders that all institutions need based on input from the working groups. An example could be a "Send to Cataloging" work order. We will set these up in 1-2 institutions for testing. After testing, we'll set these up in all 40 institutions and will also survey the libraries to determine if additional versions of these work orders are needed, such as whether a Law Library needs its own "Send to Cataloging" work ourder. Post go live, as staff become more familiar with Alma's workflows, we will work with the Standing Committees and the institutions to add additional work orders.
Fulfillment Role Profiles and Generic Accounts Created; User Roles Assigned Completed  
Fulfillment Patron Limits Completed Max overdue items, holds, and cash
Fulfillment Loan Limits Completed Max number of loans a patron can have for different types of items
Fulfillment  Reshelve Without Transit Rules Completed Determines whether or not a transit slip is generated when an item get checked in.
Fulfillment Fulfillment Configuration Completed Due dates, renewals, holds, fines, etc.
Fulfillment Pickup locations Completed for Hold Requests 5/7/2021 Populates the dropdown for hold requests and resource sharing requests. Colleges pickup locations for hold requests are in place
Fulfillment Work Orders

6/15/2021

Currently testing

Manage and track physical items through different library processes. Working Groups are currently discussing various aspects of setup. Waiting for recommendations from the Working Groups. FALSC plans to implement a few basic work orders that all institutions need based on input from the working groups. An example could be a "Send to Cataloging" work order. We will set these up in 1-2 institutions for testing. After testing, we'll set these up in all 40 institutions and will also survey the libraries to determine if additional versions of these work orders are needed, such as whether a Law Library needs its own "Send to Cataloging" work ourder. Post go live, as staff become more familiar with Alma's workflows, we will work with the Standing Committees and the institutions to add additional work orders.
Fulfillment Notices and Letters 5/28/2021 - Complete Setting notice schedule and customizing elements within letters
Fulfillment Walk-In Reciprocal Borrowing 5/21/2021 - Complete Checking out materials to patrons from other institutions, return anywhere
Resource Management Repository Import (FCS Central Loads and PDA) 5/3 - 5/28/2021 Profiles for loading bibliographic records and physical or electronic inventory
Resource Management Repository Import (SUS GenLoad Profiles) 5/3 - 5/28/2021 Profiles for loading bibliographic records and physical or electronic inventory
Resource Management

Connexion Integration Profiles (Required OCLC CAT accnt)

4/19/2021 Metadata records from Connexion client are uploaded to the Alma server on the port allocated by Ex Libris. Alma applies the import settings (normalization, validation, and merge routines) defined in the import profile that you configure for this purpose.
Resource Management WorldCat External Resources Search   FALSC asked for those institutions interested - send Help Desk request
Resource Management Publishing holdings to RapidIll (ejournals, print journals, book chapters) testing to begin 5/14/2021; continue after go live Publishing and synchronizing items or holdings information
Resource Management Z39.50 Server began 2/8/2021 Information on setup has been sent
Resource Management Resolver Proxy 5/28/2021 FALSC will be adding EZ Proxy integration profiles for those institutions which have already switched to Open Athens, but for which the URLs in the MARC records have not been updated.
Resource Management Label Printing Available now for testing Institutions interested send Help Desk request
Resource Management Request to Remote Storage (CaiaSoft UF/FLARE) 5/3/2021 Alma places a request on an item that belongs to FLARE, an automatic job exports the requested information to a defined FTP location. The remote storage system then retrieves the file and processes it.
Resource Management Work Orders

6/15/2021

Currently testing

Manage and track physical items through different library processes. Working Groups are currently discussing various aspects of setup. Waiting for recommendations from the Working Groups. FALSC plans to implement a few basic work orders that all institutions need based on input from the working groups. An example could be a "Send to Cataloging" work order. We will set these up in 1-2 institutions for testing. After testing, we'll set these up in all 40 institutions and will also survey the libraries to determine if additional versions of these work orders are needed, such as whether a Law Library needs its own "Send to Cataloging" work ourder. Post go live, as staff become more familiar with Alma's workflows, we will work with the Standing Committees and the institutions to add additional work orders.
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Partners - Adding Resource Sharing Libraries (UBorrow Borrowing and Lending libraries) Completed  
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Displaying Non-library/Campus locations which are pickup only locations Completed  
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Rota setup Completed Setup all participating partner libraries to be suppliers of all others
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Geographic Rota setup 6/15/2021 Currently set for all partners in an random list.  Will work on setting geographic regions gradually.  
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Configure UBorrow Policy Completed 60 day loan, 30 day renewal, (Covid related temporary) 7 day expiration for lender to ship.  Still testing 5 day delivery.
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Configure specific UBorrow loan policy at each library (fines, Lost Replacement fee) Mostly complete - 6/7/2021 Almost all setup.  Still finding unexpected issues with FAU, FIU, USF, UF and FSU.
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Slips/notices: Pick list, Shipping list, Borrowing Letter (Arrival Notice ), in-transit pop-up text 6/15/2021 Statewide testing underway.  Will announce UBorrow Open house to assist with questions and workflow.
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Primo Requesting pickup locations 6/10/2021 Testing Non-library/Campus locations that are pickup only locations, are listed.  May need to add additional partners (see above - same as Alma)
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Change text to 'UBorrow Request' in Primo Completed  
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) "Force" Lending requests to the Pickup Location chosen by patron 6/10/2021 FLVC Development - Currently testing with USF.  Development completed and successfully tested at USF, needs to be pushed out to remaining 39 institutions.
Resource Sharing (UBorrow) Setup ILLiad and OCLC for unfilled requests 6/10/2021 Hoping to have setup of Alma integration with at least one library each for ILLiad, Tipasa, and OCLC, in order to work out the process before Alma Lockout on 6/15, and be prepared to add soon after Go-Live.

Printing in Alma:

Setting Up and Managing Printout Queues, Quick Printing, and the Alma Print Daemon

 

Printouts Queue

Every circulation desk in Alma has a default printer assigned to it with printout queue functionality enabled.  With this configuration, when printouts such as letters and slips are generated they are sent to the printout queue where they can be previewed and sent to a physical printer.  

Printing from the Printouts Queue

To access the printouts queue go to Admin > Printing > Printouts Queue. You must have the Printouts Queue Manager role to access this menu.  Contact the help desk at help@flvc.org to request adjustment to your roles.  

The Printing Queue displays a list of all printouts generated within your institution. In the gray area to the left of the screen there are facets for printer and source.  At the top of the printouts list there are filters for letter and print status.  You can choose multiple letters to print or cancel.  Alternatively, you can preview, print, or cancel individual letters by clicking on the ellipsis at the end of the row.  

Enabling Quick Printing

Alma can be set to automatically open the print dialog box when a printout is generated.  This allows you to send a printout to a physical printer without navigating to the Printouts Queue.  To enable this, open the Location dropdown in the top right of the screen and click on the box next to “Enable quick printing.”


Sending Printouts to a Printer via Email
Alma can be configured so that printouts are sent directly to an email enabled printer.  This can work in conjunction with the printout queue so that printouts are sent directly to the printer as well saved in the queue.  Contact the help desk at help@flvc.org to enable this functionality.

 
Alma Print Daemon

The Alma Print Daemon is an optional program that is downloaded to a local workstation that can be used to manage printouts.  It checks one or more selected printout queues at regular intervals (this value is set in minutes) for printouts that are in Pending status.  It then sends these printouts to a local printer defined within in the print daemon.  The Alma Print Daemon has similar functionality as Quick Printing.  However, the print daemon allows you to set a local printer so you do not have to choose it each time a printout is generated.  

Instructions on how to install and configure the Alma Print Daemon can be found in the Ex Libris documentation How to set up and use the Alma Print Daemon. For Step 1, contact the help desk to receive your API Key and then proceed to Step 2.

Receipt Printers

Generating printouts on non-standard size slips of paper may require modifications to the letters templates.  Contact the help desk at help@flvc.org to discuss specific needs for your printers.  

Reciprocal Borrowing/Walk In Borrowing

Reciprocal Borrowing (called Walk In Borrowing in Alma speak) has been turned on in Alma. This functionality will replace the website used to verify university and college borrowers.

When students, faculty, or staff come in from another institution there is an easy way to verify their status and create a new patron record for them at the desk. This record is linked to their home institution and they can see their loans from you when they log in to their home Primo account.

  1. In Alma, click on Fulfillment > Manage Patron Services.
  2. Click the "Find User in Other Institution" box.
  3. Choose the patron's institution from the drop down.
  4. Scan or key in their barcode or their institutional ID.
  5. If their record is found, a new screen will show fully filled out. Their expiration date will be the same as in their home record. Check and update their User Group if necessary.
  6. If their record is not found, a blank user registration form will appear. This may mean the number you scanned isn't in their record, they are not affiliated with the institution anymore, or they are only tangentially related to the institution and so are probably no qualified for reciprocal borrower privileges.
  7. Save the record.
  8. Check out their items. Item will circulate based on the User Group you gave them in their local patron record and all notices, fines, and fees will be through your institution.
  9. The next time this patron wishes to check something out, follow the same steps listed above. This will keep their record up-to-date in your system. Subsequent check outs will not make the new user registration from come up again.

 

Return Anywhere

Occasionally patrons return item to the wrong institution. There is a way to return these items now so that they are no longer on the patron record record.

  1. In Alma, click on Fulfillment > Return Items.
  2. Next to "Item Owner" choose the item's home location.
  3. Scan the barcode.

Important: Always scan the item without choosing a home location first. This ensures that the item is not a UBorrow loan.

Note: If your library decides that you do not want to check in items from other institutions or that you do not want other institutions to check in your library's items, please contact the FLVC Help Desk and request this functionality to be turned off.

Other Functionality (Do Not Use)

There is another new drop down menu that can be found using Managing Patron Services. It is found after you scan for the patron. It allows you to check out an item from another institution to the patron. In effect, it creates a reciprocal borrower account in the other institution. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS FEATURE. It cannot be disabled without disabling Return Anywhere.

Status of Surveys Received

To make sure libraries are turning in the required surveys that FALSC has been sending out to the ILS Coordinators during the implementation, we've created the following chart that lists when each survey has been received. FALSC staff will update periodically.

Last Updated: June 9, 2021.

Yes

Institution Patron Load Schedule
(Due 4/16/21)
Google Scholar
 (Due 5/21/21)
Migration Questions
(Due 5/17/21)
Email Notices
(Due 5/21/21)
Work Orders
(Due 6/7/21)
Admin Roles
(Due 10/1/21)
Totals 38 39 40 40 31 35
Broward College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Chipola College Received Received Received Received Received No
College of Central Florida Received Received Received Received Received No
College of the Florida Keys Received Received Received Received   NR
Daytona State College Received Received Received Received Received No
Eastern Florida State College Received Received Received Received   Yes
Florida A&M University Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Florida Atlantic University Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Florida Gateway College Received Received Received Received   Yes
Florida Gulf Coast University Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Florida International University Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Florida Polytechnic University Received Received Received Received   NR
Florida SouthWestern State College   Received Received Received Received No
Florida State College at Jacksonville Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Florida State University Received Received Received Received   Yes
Gulf Coast State College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Hillsborough Community College Received Received Received Received Received No
Indian River State College Received Received Received Received Received NR
Lake-Sumter State College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Miami Dade College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
New College of Florida Received Received Received Received Received NR
North Florida College Received Received Received Received   No
Northwest Florida State College Received   Received Received Received NR
Palm Beach State College   Received Received Received   Yes
Pasco-Hernando State College Received Received Received Received Received No
Pensacola State College Received Received Received Received Received No
Polk State College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
St. Johns River State College Received Received Received Received Received No
St. Petersburg College Received Received Received Received Received No
Santa Fe College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Seminole State College Received Received Received Received Received No
South Florida State College Received Received Received Received Received No
State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Received Received Received Received   Yes
Tallahassee Community College Received Received Received Received Received Yes
University of Central Florida Received Received Received Received Received Yes
University of Florida Received Received Received Received Received Yes
University of North Florida Received Received Received Received Received Yes
University of South Florida Received Received Received Received Received Yes
University of West Florida Received Received Received Received Received Yes
Valencia College Received Received Received Received   No

ILLiad, Tipasa and OCLC Integration

We are working on getting your “last resort” suppliers, ILLiad, Tipasa and OCLC Worldshare setup so that requests that unfilled in the FL40 can continue.  

College Libraries 

Here is a link to a spreadsheet, that was initial used when the college libraries transitioned from Primo to Mango, to collect information about how you would like unfilled UBorrow requests to be handled, Survey about OCLC Worldshare setup.

  • Refer to the FCS tab of the spreadsheet

Each institution’s representative must check the spreadsheet to either make sure the information is correct, or fill in the needed information.

Depending on the setup at your library:

  • Some of you will have a link to ILL on your Library’s site,  (Link)
  • Others prefer to have requests submitted via email,  (Email Address)
  • Some prefer to have patrons come to the Circ desk for assistance, or do not offer traditional ILL services (Text only)

This information will come into play in Alma when the patron receives the Request Cancellation Letter.

The text of the letter will be:

The item you requested on (date) is currently unavailable through UBorrow. However, it may be available through Interlibrary Loan. (Bib information of the requested item).

To submit a request…

  • click on the following link: (Link) to continue the request.
  • send an email to (Email Address) for assistance.
  • please come to the Circulation Desk for assistance. (Text Only)

Libraries using Tipasa will use this same workflow as well at Go-Live

University Libraries 

The process for integrating ILLiad into Alma as a Supplier of Last Resort involves setup in both Alma, and ILLiad. 

To get an idea of the setup, here is a link to the documentation from ExLibris, Setting up the Alma ILLiad Partner of Last Resort Integration

The basic steps are:

  • Setup ILLiad as a Partner, add to Rota, setup TOU, Policy and Rules (FALSC will setup)
  • In ILLiad Configure the API key.  We'll need each University Library desiring to use ILLiad as a last resort supplier to setup this part.  
  • Click here for detailed Instructions

Please update/check the Survey or send in the ILLiad API Key and URL to the HelpDesk, help@flvc.org, no later than Jun 28, 2021.

 

 

How to Return UBorrow Loans

Link to spreadsheet of  Aleph UBorrow, Borrowing and Lending Loans:

For SUS: University UBorrow loans from Aleph

For FCS: College UBorrow loans from Aleph

Because UBorrow loans migrated from Aleph do not have any accompanying information with it, returns of loans will need to be managed manually.

The workflow for the University and College Libraries will differ slightly because the Universities use ILL-XXX (request number) as the temporary item barcode at the Borrowing library. The Colleges use the actual item barcode at the Borrowing Library.

Library staff will be able to have Read-Only access to Aleph to be able to view outstanding requests, or may refer to the provided spreadsheet of outstanding UBorrow loans.

Borrowing Workflow

NOTE: The relationships between the borrowing and Lending in AlephILL have been broken and UBorrow loan bib records have been suppressed. Therefore, you may see error messages during the process. Most of these can be ignored. Please email the FLVC Help Desk at help@falsc.org if you are unable to complete the steps below.

  1. When the patron returns a UBorrow loaned item, staff should Checkin the loan:
    • Fulfillment > Under Checkin/Checkout > Return Items
    • Scan in barcode > OK
  2. Withdraw the temporary item record in your institution.  Depending on the workflow at your library/institution, you may not have the necessary role in Alma to withdraw items.  You may want to provide a list of UBorrow barcodes to your Cataloging department to be withdrawn from the database, or contact the HelpDesk to request the needed, Physical Inventory, role to be able to withdraw items. 
  3. Below are the steps:  
    • Search for Physical items > Barcode (ILL-XXXX for universities), (Lender book barcode for College Libraries)

       
    • Then withdraw the item record - See Below

       
  4. Return the item to the Lender. You will most likely need to either refer to the provided spreadsheet of outstanding UBorrow Loans or look up the item in the read-only AlephILL client.

Lending Workflow

  1. After Receiving the returned item in the mail, Return in Fulfillment to remove the Lending loan from the Borrowing library patron account.
  2. Both University and College Libraries should be able to easily return the item using the actual item barcode.
  • This will change the Availability status of the title in Primo from, On Loan to Available.

 

Please contact the FLVC Help Desk at help@flvc.org if you have any questions.