Skip to main content

Mango Discovery

This is a listing of all webinars developed by FALSC for the Mango discovery tool

Frequently asked questions about ORL

FAQs about Open Research Library

 

Q: Are the records available for all users (FCS and SUS)?

A: Yes.

 

Q: Are the records free?

A: Yes. The Open Research Library (ORL) is a freely available open access platform that presents tens of thousands of OA books and chapters from a growing array of publishers. The content includes all of the books that have been successfully made open access by Knowledge Unlatched as well as added content from other sources. In the near future, the content will include the presentation of scholarly open access videos. 

ORL is available to any library and user for free. Individuals can create their own accounts for private workspace usage by simply providing a login and password. No personal information is required. 

 

Q: Why do I see information about pricing on Knowledge Unlatched web site?

A: Libraries have been invited to support the Open Research Library through memberships, the funding from which will be used to speed up and broaden the development of the platform. For libraries supporting the ORL at the Premium level, several value added benefits are offered. No library is required to pay for its users to have access to the ORL. Membership is strictly optional and does not affect access. 

 

Q: How many records are in the set from Knowledge Unlatched?

A: About 70,000.

 

Q: This collection is also in the EDS index and in the Full Text Finder Knowledgebase. Would it be better to turn it on there instead of using the records loaded in Mango?

A: It is a local decision to turn the collection on in the EDS index or to use the MARC XML records that were loaded into Mango.

 

Q: Mango has over 70,000 records from ORL. EDS and the Full Text Finder KB have approximately 20,000. Why is the number of records different?

Knowledge Unlatched supplied about 20,000 ebook records to EBSCO for inclusion in the KB. The file provided to FALSC included records for ebooks and chapters.

 

Q: Why are there so many broken links and what can we do about it?

A: Knowledge Unlatched (KU) discovered duplicates on the platform, which are being removed at the moment. If you find records that have broken links, you can report problems to support@openresearchlibrary.org. You can also send them to the FLVC Help Desk and the list will be forwarded to KU.

We have noticed and reported to KU that many of the broken links appear to be in "softer" subjects, such as art, literature, business, etc. The links for titles in medical subjects appear to work. FALSC will continue to search the statewide interface and report broken links to KU.

 

Q: Should we continue to load Open Research Library MARC records into Aleph locally?

A: if you are currently loading MARC records from OCLC, continuing to do is a local decision. Please be aware that FALSC is not loading MARC records into Aleph statewide for this collection. Instead, we are loading MARC XML records directly into Mango where they are indexed in Solr. Whether you continue to load MARC records into Aleph depends on whether you find the metadata in the MARC XML records from Knowledge Unlatched satisfactory or not.

 

Q: Should I add Open Research Library to Open Athens?

A: No. These are freely available resources. No authentication is required through either EZ Proxy or Open Athens.

 

Q: Can I add this resource to my Databases A-Z list?

A: Yes. If you are in a college and are using the list maintained by FALSC, contact the FLVC Help Desk to request that we add them. If you are using a LibGuides’ A-Z list, please feel free to add this resource. The URL is https://openresearchlibrary.org/home.

 

Q: How can we retrieve these records?

A: Use keyword searching to have the records appear intermingled in the results list. Open Research Library will be listed in the Subcollection facet, along with FLARE, Hathi Trust, etc. so you can limit to just these resources if desired. If you want to retrieve all the records in this collection, do a keyword search for “Open Research Library” in the Books and more search drop down.

 

Q: Is the content in multiple languages?

A: Yes. In the statewide interface, you can use the Language facet and narrow to just English so that other languages, such as German, do not display.