Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Next Gen ILS Implementation

This is for FALSC's Alma/Primo VE Implementation Project.

Known Issues

Known Issues - Go Live

The following issues have been confirmed by FALSC staff and/or Ex Libris and will affect the production data. If a solution is available, it is noted. This document will be continually updated by FALSC staff.

Category Date Description of Problem Possible Cause Solution
Primo VE 13 July 2021 Primo slowness as the system gets primed. It takes awhile for the system to get "pumped up" and load balancing to be adjusted. Expected Go Live behavior Give the system time for load balancing.
eResources 13 July 2021 Open Athens linking failure with migrated bibs that require encoded URLs. Alma/Primo convert the encoding (%26) to the character represented (&) and the link doesn't work at the vendor. Issue reported during Full Test Load. Vendors affected include Films on Demand and Ovid. Activated collections do not have this problem.   Alma/Primo converting encoding in URL. Solution provided by Ex Libris. FLVC staff cleaning up URLs in Alma. Additionally, for FCS, there are still some EZ Proxied URLs that no longer work and those are also being cleaned up. Please use the tracking spreadsheet to follow progress.
eResources 13 July 2021

Some article and other "e" content links won't work if the content is coming from a collection activated in Alma for cutover. 

Some collections need linking parameters added to them in order for links to work. FLVC added linking parameters to all EBSCO, Gale, ProQuest and Ovid collections. Library staff and FLVC review the activated collections and add linking parameters as needed.
eResources 14 July 2021 Gale Academic OneFile was not activated. Gale Academic OneFile was inadvertently removed from the CZ (see emails on the Alma discussion list) and Ex Libris is in the process of adding it back in, but that work is not complete and Ex Libris is communicating with Gale about this issue. We have been asked to hold off on activating it manually until notified. Activate manually when notified.
eResources 14 July 2021 Some collections marked Y on the eresources activation spreadsheet could not be activated. Various collections have changed their names in the CZ compared to what was listed on the spreadsheet or they no longer exist. Examples include Oxford University Press, American Psychiatric publishing journals, Project Euclid Open Access Conference Proceedings, Project Euclid Open Access Journals, Project Euclid Open Access Monographs, Redalyc, and Elsevier SD Freedom Collection.

Library staff will need to check their activations and find an alternative collection in the CZ as needed. FALSC can provide a spreadsheet with conditional formatting showing duplicate values upon request.

eResources 14 July 2021 FIU only: eresource activation spreadsheet that was submitted could not be loaded. FALSC had to re-create it using a newer version of the eResource Activation spreadsheet. Some collections on the original spreadsheet were not listed on the newer version of the spreadsheet or might have been listed with different names (see entry in row above). If a collection name was unclear, we did not mark it for activation. Various collections have changed their names in the CZ compared to what was listed on the spreadsheet or they no longer exist.  FIU staff will need to check their activations and find an alternative collection in the CZ as needed. FALSC can provide a spreadsheet with conditional formatting showing duplicate values upon request.
eResources 14 July 2021 HCC or spotty among Open Athens institutions: Links not working to EBSCO and other collections that have been activated in the NZ and made available for them. Linking parameters. FLVC investigated on 7/13 and found a combination of settings that will resolve the problem. FLVC will adjust the linking parameters.
Browsers 14 July 2021 Ex Libris recommends that you do not work with Alma in multiple tabs of the same browser. . To work with Alma in multiple tabs, open each tab in a different browser (e.g., one tab in Chrome and the other in Firefox).
System 14 July 2021 Alma and/or Primo is not responding. Our Alma and Primo VE instances are hosted on NA07. You can check the Ex Libris System Status page: 
eResources 15 July 2021 The HathiTrust collection activated in the NZ is not populating titles to the institutions who should have them.  Unknown. Ex Libris is investigating. Resolved. The collection in the NZ is populating to each institution as expected.
Cataloging/Resource management 15 July 2021 E-resources inventory portfolios  were loaded for 856 fields without $5.  In some cases the initial Holdings and Items need to be removed from the record. The e-inventory was added but the physical inventory was not removed at that time. FLVC is looking at coming up with a plan to clean these up.  When the plan is in place FLVC will conduct the cleanup process.
Primo VE 18 July 2021 Ex LIbris recommends that you do not work with Primo VE open in multiple tabs of the same browser.   In order to work with Primo or Primo VE in multiple tabs, open each tab in a different browser (e.g one tab in Chrome and the other in Firefox).
Acquisitions 20 July 2021 Physical items do not appear in In-Process items list after receiving Some items ordered but not received before cutover migrated without an acquisitions work order Items must be scanned in at acquisitions to create a new acquisitions work order; to find these items, search physical item: internal note 3 contains OR and Receiving date is before 7/13/2021 and Process type=Acquisition
Primo/Cataloging 13 July 2021 URLs retained in NZ bibs appear in Links section in Primo for all other institutions that have holdings on the same record. Records are loaded into the NZ in a specific institutional order. Generally the order is set by the size of the institution with larger going first.  Whatever record comes in 1st gets established as the NZ record.  The linked IZ records will differ only in added locally marked fields. Determined by NZ creation process. No solution. Will need to be cleanup in Alma. 
Primo/Cataloging 13 July 2021 Local data indicated by subfield 5's appears for institutions for whom the data is not relevant. This can be any field, such as notes. Records are loaded into the NZ in a specific institutional order. Generally the order is set by the size of the institution with larger going first.  Whatever record comes in 1st gets established as the NZ record.  The linked IZ records will differ only in added locally marked fields. Determined by NZ creation process. No solution. Will need to be cleanup in Alma.