Skip to main content

Mango Discovery

This is a listing of all webinars developed by FALSC for the Mango discovery tool

Cataloged records in Aleph

Cataloged records in Aleph

 

Cataloged eBook records can go into one of three bibliographic databases: FCC01, UXU01, or PDA01. 

 

FCC01/UXU01/PDA01

Usually records that an institution owns are added to FCC01 (the bibliographic database for the colleges) or UXU01 (the bibliographic database for the universities). PDA01 started as a database for PDA/DDA records for both college and university records; however, records for some subscription-based ebook collections with updates that are difficult to manage are placed PDA01 so that managing the adds/deletes is easier. 

 

Treatment of a bib in Mango as eBook

If a record’s format is "book" and the record is "online" (has 856 without exclusions) then the format and icon for an eBook are assigned. Likewise, if a record’s format is "journal" and the record is "online" (has 856 without exclusions) then the format and icon of Journal are assigned.

 

Second indicator

In Mango, if the 2nd indicator is blank or 0 that means its an ebook. When overlaying records, check the 856 fields and ensure the second indicator is a ‘2’ for print books or that it’s a relevant URL. If the URL is not relevant, delete it.

 

Subfield 5

A subfield 5 with an institution's OCLC code is added to each 856 field that is unique to that library. The data in the 856 with a $$5 only shows up in that institution’s local Mango interface, not all the interfaces. The statewide Mango catalog displays all links. Examples of 856 fields with a subfield 5 and how the records show up in Mango are shown below. Informational or additional resources 856 fields without a subfield 5 will show up for all libraries.