Skip to main content

Mango Discovery

This is a listing of all webinars developed by FALSC for the Mango discovery tool

Customization decisions: search area

Customization decisions: search area

Universities choosing to use the “pre-filter drop-down” style of search area, but which are using Mango to search records cataloged in Aleph and/or digital collections, but not articles, do not need a pre-filter drop down menu. A single search box will be used. Shown below is an example of an SUS search box without the pre-filter menu.

 

For those SUS and FCS institutions using Mango to search content cataloged in Aleph and article content from EDS, determine the search area style, either pre-filter drop-down menu or search tabs.

 

Pre-filter drop-down

The pre-filter drop-down menu contains the categories of records that will be searched, such as All content (includes records cataloged in Aleph and records coming from the EDS API), records cataloged in Aleph, and records coming from the EDS API. There are always these three choices for the pre-filter drop down menus, and they are always in the same order on the list.

 

The decision to make is how to label each choice and which one will be the default type of search. Some labels that have been used are:

  • All, Everything, Books & Articles
  • Library Catalog, Books & More, Books & Media, Books
  • Articles & More, Articles

Note that Course Reserves is not an option that can be listed in the pre-filter drop-down menu. If course reserves are used, there must be an alternative way of providing access, such as by adding a horizontal button in the header or a link from the library’s web site instead of from Mango.

 

Search tabs

Search tabs can be used to filter the type of search to the records indicated by the label on the search tab. Traditional tabs are: All, Library Catalog, and Articles. Course Reserves can be added as a search tab if the institution uses Course Reserves. An alternative is to add a Horizontal button that links to Course Reserves.

 

Decisions include:

  • the number of search tabs, 
  • the labels of the search tabs, 
  • the order of the search tabs, 
  • the search tab that is the default, 
  • the color of the active/inactive tabs

 

Some search tabs can be configured to search specific materials, but be aware that no other types of materials can be searched in these tabs. For example, a tab labeled ebooks that has been customized to search just ebooks cannot substitute for searching other library materials. It is also not possible to remove one of the limiters, such as clicking the “x” next to “Online Resource”. Shown below is an example of an eBooks search tab.

 

 

 

Digital Collections

An optional search tab is for Digital Collections. Digital collections from contributing institutions are harvested and loaded directly into Mango. If this search tab is added, the standard way of adding content to an institution’s Mango interface is to include all digital records. An institution can optionally choose which digital collections to appear in their local Mango interface. Note that including digital collections means metadata existing in those records will appear in the Advanced search options, such as format. One example is the use of the formats Mixed Material used in Aleph and Mixed Materials used to describe some digital objects.

 

 

The records for digital objects are also searchable in the Library Catalog or similarly named search tab or pre-filter drop-down and are intermingled with records that are cataloged in Aleph.

 

 

The LIbrary/Collection and Subcollection facets, as well as other facets, depending on how the digital objects have been cataloged, can be used to narrow search results. 

All records for digital objects are searchable in Mango’s statewide interface by using the Books and more pre-filter drop-down.

 

Drop-down to limit by campus (sublibrary)

It is also possible to add a pre-search limiter for campus (sublibrary) that will appear in the search box next to the choices of search type (keyword, title, etc.). An example is shown below. Let FALSC know if this option is desired and provide the labels for how the campus names should appear. Since the names are not pulled from an Aleph table, like those in the Location facet, they don’t have to match that format.